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if Efforts to Resolve a Problem Fail

If your efforts to resolve any problem with the “Pet
Dealer” who sold you your dog or cat fail, you must:

* Keep records of all documents, i.e., your hill of sale,
veterinary records, correspondence etc.;

* Notify the “Pet Dealer” within two (2) days of the
examination by a veterinarian that the pet is unfit.

* Notify the “Pet Dealer” that the pet was unfit at time
of purchase. This notification must be a written
statement for the examining veterinarian and must
be received by the “Pet Dealer” within three (3)
days of the examination.

You May Consider Other Avenues:

Contact your local law enforcernent agency and
request that they file a swom complaint on your behalf
for a violation of Florida Statute Chapter 828.29.

Request that the law enforcement agency forward the
sworn complaint to the State Attorney's Office for
resolution.

Upon conviction, a person who violates any provision
of the “Pet Lemon Law" is guilty of a misdemeanor
of the first degree, punishable by jail not to exceed
one year and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00.

In cases of suspected forgery of the Official Certifi-
cate of Veterinary Inspection, send a written descrip-
tion of the incident and a copy of the suspected forged
Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection to Florida
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Division of Animal Industry, Room 335, The Mayo
Building, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800.

A person who forges, counterfeits, simulates or al-
ters, or who knowingly possesses, Uses, presents or
utters, any forged, counterfeited, altered or simulated
official certificate of veterinary inspection or any other
document relating to animal health requirements or
substitutes, represents, or tenders an official certifi-
cate of veterinary inspection or any other document
relating to animal health requirements of one animal
for anather animal commits a felory of the third degree,
punishable by jail not to exceed three (3) years and/
or a fine not to exceed $5,000.

In cases of suspected violation of veterinary practices,
contact: Board of Veterinary Medicine, 1940 N. Monroe
St, Tallahassee, FL 32395-07850 {904) 487-1820.

Animal control agencies and registered nonprofit
humane organizations are exempt from “The Pet
Lemon Law”,
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Know the Rules

There are two kinds of sellers: Private and Pet Dealer.
A “Pet Dealer” is defined as anyone who engages in
the sale of more than two litters per year ar mere than
20 animals per year — whichever is greater.
Regardless of whether you purchase from a private
person or a pet dealer, at the time of purchase:

* The dog or cat must be at least eight weeks of age;

* You must be given a completed copy of the Of-
ficial Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. The Of-
ficial Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must have
been signed by a licensed veterinarian no mere
than 30 days before your purchase.

-» The dog or cat must have been vaccinated, de-
womed, and had certain tests prior to your pur-
chase. These must have been administered by or
under the direct supervision of a licensed veteri-
narian (NOT a private or pet dealer) no more than
21 days before your purchase if your dog or catis
under four months. if your pet is over four months,
they must be administered no more than one year
before your purchase.

Your Pet Must Receive Vaccines
and Dewormers

if You Purchase a Dog
if you purchase a dog, it must receive vaccines and
dewormers administered by or under the direct super-
vision of a licensed veterinarian (NOT a private or pet
dealer) against the following diseases and internal
parasites:

Canine Distemper Rabies, if older than 3

Hepatitis months

Leptospirosis Parainfluenza

Canine Parvo Virus Roundworms

Bordetella Hookwoms

it your dog is over 6 months - it must be tested for heartworms
i You Purchase a Cat

If you purchase a cat, it must receive vaccines and de-
wormers agministered by or under the direct supervision
of a licensed veterinarian (NOT a private or pet dealer)
against the following diseases and internal parasites:

Panleukopenia Rabies, if older than 3

Feline Viral months
Rhinotracheitis Roundworms
Calici Virus Hookworms

Every cat oftered for sale must be tested for Feline Leuke-
mia.

What Every Seller Must Do

All sellers, regardiess of whether they are private or a “Pet
Dealer” must:

* Retain accurate records of pets sold and their
purchasers;

* Retain copies of the Official Certiﬂcate of Veterinary
Inspection for each animal sold for at least one year,

* Allow unnoticed inspection by any agent of the
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, any law enforcement officer, or any
animal control or humane officer.

The veterinarian must retain copies of the Official Cer-
tificate of Veterinary Inspection for each animal he/she
has administered to for at least one year.

Know Your Rights

Every “Pet Dealer” must provide the consumer at the time
of sale with a written notice advising of consumer rights.
The notice shall read as follows:

It is the consumer's right, pursuant to section
828.29, Florida Statutes, to recelive a certificate
of vetarinary inspection with each dog or cat
purchased from a pet dealer. Such certificates
shall list all vaccines and deworming medications
administered to the animal and shall state that the
animal has been exarmined by a Florda licensed
veterinarian who certifies that, to the best of his
knowledge, the animal was found to have been
healthy at the time of the veterinary examination.
In the event that the consumer purchases the
animal and finds it to have been unfit for purchase
as provided in section 828.29, Florida Statutes,
the consumer must notify the pet dealer within
two business days of the veterinarian's determi-
nation that the animal was unfit. The consumer
has the right to retain, return, or exchange the
animal, subject to the right of the dealer to have
the animal examined hy another veterinarian,

IfYou Purchase Your Pet from a “Pet
Dealer”Your Are Protected by Law

If within 14 days after you bought your pet from a “Pet
Dealer”, a licensed veterinarian of your choosing finds
that your pet has a disease or internal or external para-
sites (excluding fleas or ticks),

..or_
If within 1 year after you bought your pet, a licensed
veterinarian of your choosing finds that your pet has a

congenital or hereditary disorder, and your veterinarian
says your pet was unfit at the time of purchase,
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If the “Pet Dealer” misrepresented the breed, sex, or

- health of your pet, then:

You Have the Right To:

» Return the animal and receive a refund of the
purchase price, including the sales tax, and reim-
bursement™ for reasonable veterinary costs:

1) Directly related to the veterinarian's examination
and certification that the dog or cat is unfit for
purchase, and

2} Directly related to necessary emergency sery-
ices and treatment undertaken to relieve suffering;

* Retumn the animal and receive an exchange dog or
cat of the consumer's choice of equivalent value, and
reimbursement® for reasonable veterinary costs:
1) Directly related to the vetetinarian's examination
and certification that the dog or cat is unﬁt for pur-
chase, and
2) Directly related to necessary emergency serv-
ices and treatment undertaken to relieve suffering;
or,

* Retain the animal and receive reimbursement* for
reasonable veterinary costs for necessary services
and treatment related to the attempt to cure or
curing of the dog or cat.

* Reimbursement for veterinary costs may not exceed
the purchase price of the animal. The cost of veterinary
services is reasonable if comparable to the cost simi-
lar services rendered by other licensed veterinarians in
proximity to the treating veterinarian and the services
rendered are appropriate for the certification by the
veterinarian.

An animal may not be determined unfit for sale on ac-
count of an injury sustained or finess contracted AFTER
the consumer takes possession.



