CHiLD LABor Laws

The State of Florida and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Protecting the Health, Education and Welfare of Minors in the Workplace.
This chart summatizes the child labor laws of the State of Florida and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA).
‘The stricter provisions must be observed and are denoted by bold lettering. The Federal law in italics.

Minors 16 & 17

SCHOOL

ATTENDANCE school hours unless they meet a
criterion of the Hour Restrictions
listed below. FI.S.A: No limitations.

PERMITS TO

WORK 19 years old.

HOURS OF Florida: May work up to 30

WORK, hours per week. Not before 6:30
a.m. or later than 11 p.m. and for

WHEN SCHOOL no more than 8 hourrs) a day when

IS IN SESSION school is scheduled the following
day. On days when school does
not follow, there are no hour
restrictions.
FIL.SA: No limitations.

HOURS OF Florida: No Limitations

WORK, WHEN FLSA: No limitations.

SCHOOL IS NOT Note: Hazardous occupations

IN SESSION still apply for minors.

(summer vacation;
winter, spring breaks)

DAYS PER WEEK
BREAKS

No limitations.

AGRICULTURE

Minors 14 & 15 - Under 14 years old MAY NOT WORK

Florida: May NOT work during  Florida & FLSA: May not work during school hours (some
exceptions apply).

Florida & I'LSA: Not required, except the FLSA requires the employer to maintain date of birth information for all employees under

Florida: May work up to 15 hours per week. Not before 7 a.m. or after 7
p-m. and for no more than 3 hours a day on school days, when a school
day follows. May work up to 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and on
non-school days, when school days do not follow, until 9 p.m.

FLSA: Daily maximum of 3 hrs. on school days, 8 hours non-school days; weekly maximum
7518 hours; not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. Note: Application of both state and
federal law allows this age group to work up to 8 hours on Saturday, Sunday and
non-school days, when school days do not follow, until 7 p.m.

Florida: May work up to 8 hrs. per day and up to 40 hrs. per week; may
not work before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.

FLSA: May work up to 8 hrs. per day and up to 40 hrs. per week. Work
must be performed between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.; from June 1 to Labor Day
may work until 9 p.m.

Florida: No more than 6 consecutive days in any one week. L.SA: No limitations.
Florida: Minors may work no more than 4 consecutive hours without a 30 minute uninterrupted break. FI1.5.A:

Florida: Minors participating in farm work, not on their parents or guardian’s farm, must comply with the

same restrictions as in other work. FLS.A: No limitations.
FLSA: No employment permitted during school hours. May work after school in occupations not declared hazardous in agricnlture. See Child Labor Bulletin 102.
(Exception: 12 and 13 year-olds may be employed with written parental consent or on a farnm where the minor’s parent is also employed; minors under 12 may be
employed with written parental consent on farms where employees are exempt from the Federal minimum wage provisions.)
RESTRICTED OCCUPATIONS The State of Florida has incorporated the 17 Hazardous Occupations (HOs) of the FLSA into the Florida
law and Child Labor Rule. For more info on HOs, contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. This poster represents a

combination of those laws with an ** annotating Florida law “only.”

Minors under the age of 18 may not work in below occupations:

¢ Working in or around explosives or radioactive substances

¢ Operating Motor vehicles

¢ Logging or sawmilling

¢ Operating power-driven meat processing machines to include meat
and vegetable slicers; slaughtering, meat packing, processing or

rendering

* Working on any scaffolding, roofs or ladders above 6 feet; roofing

¢ Wrecking, demolition or excavation

* Mining occupations

¢ Operating power-driven bakery; metal-forming, punching, and

shearing machines; woodworking, paper products or hoisting
machines

* Manufacturing brick and tile products

* Operating circular saws, band saws, & guillotine shears

** Working with compressed gases exceeding 40 p.s.i.

# Working in or around toxic substances, corrosives or pesticides

** Firefighting

** Working with electrical apparatus or wiring

# Operating or assisting to operate tractors over 20 PTO horsepower,
forklifts, earthmoving equipment, any harvesting, planting, or
plowing machinery or any moving machinery

EXEMPTIONS

Hour Restrictions — (from hour restrictions only; hazard restrictions

still apply until 18 yrs.)

* Minors who hold waivers from a public school or Child Labor

Compliance

Minors who have been married

Minors who have either graduated from an accredited high school, or

hold a high school equivalency diploma

Minors who have served in the US. Armed Forces

* Minors who are enrolled in high school work programs

Minors 14 and 15 may not work in these occupations:

¢ Operating any power-driven machinery other than office machines,
including all power mowers and cutters

¢ Maintaining or repairing an establishment, machines, or equipment

* Working in freezers or meat coolers

¢ Operating, setting up, adjusting, or cleaning power-driven meat or
vegetable slicers, grinders, food choppers, and cutters, and bakery-
type mixers

* Operating motor vehicles

* Manufacturing, mining, or processing occupations where goods are
manufactured, mined, or processed

* Cooking (some exceptions apply) & baking

* Working in occupations in Transportation, Warehouse & Storage,
Communications, and Construction (except clerical); boiler or

engine rooms

* Loading and unloading trucks

* Working in public messenger services

*+ Handling certain dangerous animals

#* Conducting doot-to-door sales of products as employment (some
exceptions)

# Spray painting

Age Restrictions — (from age requirements; hazard restrictions still

apply)

* Minors who work for their parents in occupations not declared
hazardous

* Pages in the Florida legislature

¢ Newspaper delivery (10 years old)

* Minors in the entertainment industry registered with Child Labor
Compliance

A court may authorize an exemption from age and hour restrictions.

PARTIAL WAIVERS The Florida Child Labor law is designed to serve and protect minors and encourage them to remain in school. At times,
some minors may feel that the law conflicts with their best interest or their life circumstances; therefore, they have the right to request an
exemption from the law. If a minor is attending the K-12 public school, a waiver may be obtained and granted by the local school district. All
other minors may request an application by contacting the Department of Business and Professional Child Labor Program. Waiver applications
are reviewed and granted on a case by case basis. To qualify, applicants must demonstrate that certain requirements of Florida law need to be
waived. Employers must keep a copy of partial waivers of employed minors.

PENALTIES Florida: Employment of minors in violation of Florida Child Labor laws may result in fines up to $2,500 per offense and/ot be
guilty of a second degree misdemeanor. FLSA: Maximum fines up to $11,000 per minor / per violation.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION Florida: If an injured minor is employed in violation of any provisions of the Child Labor laws of
Florida, an employer may be subject to up to double the compensation otherwise payable under Florida Workers’ Compensation law.
POSTING REQUIREMENTS Florida: All employers of minors must post in a conspicuous place on the property or place of
employment, where it may be easily read, a poster notifying minors of the Child Labor laws.

For information on Florida laws contact:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation * Child Labor Program
2601 Blair Stone Road ¢ Tallahassee, FL 32399-2212 ¢ Telephone 850.488.3131; Toll-Free 1.800.226.2536 * www.myfloridalicense.com

For information on Federal laws contact:

U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division, listed in the telephone directory under U.S. Government; www.dol.gov/elaws/

flsa.htm.

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the United States Department of Labor
"Working Together for Florida's Workforce"

2016 May 16


www.dol.gov/elaws
www.myfloridalicense.com

FLORIDA LAW
PROHIBITS

DISCRIMINATION

BASED ON:
RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN,
DISABILITY, AGE, PREGNANCY OR MARITAL STATUS.

WHAT IS COVERED UNDER THE LAW:

* EMPLOYMENT
* PUBLIC ACCOMMODATIONS
*RETALIATION AFTER FILING A CLAIM
* STATE EMPLOYEE WHISTLE-BLOWER RETALIATION

If you feel that you have been discriminated against,
visit our web site or call us!

FLORIDA COMMISSION ON
HUMAN RELATIONS

4075 Esplanade Way, Suite 110
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
http://FCHR.state.fl.us

Phone: (850) 488-7082
Voice Messaging 1-800-342-8170

LA LEY DE LA FLORIDA
PROHIBE

DISCRIMINACION

BASADA EN:

RAZA, COLOR, RELIGION, SEXO, ORIGEN NACIONAL,
INCAPACIDAD, EDAD, EMBARAZO, O ESTADO CIVIL.

LO QUE ESTA CUBIERTO BAJO LA LEY:

« EMPLEO
* LUGARES DE ACOMODO PUBLICO
+ ACCION VENGATIVE DESPUES
DE PRESENTAR UNA QUEJA
« ACCION VENGATIVA EN CONTRA DE PRESENTAR UNA QUEJA
BAJO LALEY DE "SOPLAON" (WHISTLE-BLOWER)

/St usted siente que ha sido discriminado,
visite nuestra pagina web o llamenos!

LA COMISION DE RELACIONES
HUMANAS DE LA FLORIDA

4075 Esplanade Way, Suite 110
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
http://FCHR.state.fl.us

Teléfono: (850) 488-7082
Correo de Voz: 1-800-342-8170



http://FCHR.state.fl.us
http://FCHR.state.fl.us

DRUG-FREE
WORKPLACE

Pinellas County is a Drug-Free Workplace in
compliance with the Federal Drug-Free Workplace
Act and Florida Statutes. To view the policy,

visit www.pinellascounty.org/hr/drugfree.

El Condado de Pinellas es un Lugar de Trabajo
Libre de Drogas que cumple con la Ley Federal de
Lugares de Trabajo Libres de Drogas y los Estatutos
de Florida. Para consultar esta politica,
visite www.pinellascounty.org/hr/drugfree.

Pinellas#
(ounty



https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinellascounty.org%2Fhr%2Fdrugfree&data=02%7C01%7Ccwevans%40co.pinellas.fl.us%7Cd48378dd97074625948e08d7b014d601%7Cc32ee18fa4c746ffaf408ed605642745%7C0%7C0%7C637171475850354256&sdata=vbrnvJ6goPTKPoaHBSqwr43%2BcQ96KDUeoUQPCN9ZUWM%3D&reserved=0
http://www.pinellascounty.org/hr/drugfree

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from
discrimination in employment. If you believe you’ve been discriminated against at work or in applying for
a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

Who is Protected?

¢ Employees (current and
former), including managers
and temporary employees

e Union members and
applicants for membership
in a union

¢ Job applicants

What Types of Employment Discrimination
are lllegal?

Under the EEOC’s laws, an employer may not discriminate against
you, regardless of your immigration status, on the bases of:

* Race disclosure of genetic tests,

e Color genetic services, or family
L medical histor

e Religion v)

e Retaliation for filing a
charge, reasonably
opposing discrimination,
or participating in a
discrimination lawsuit,
investigation, or proceeding

¢ National origin

e Sex (including pregnancy,
childbirth, and related medical
conditions, sexual orientation,
or gender identity)

e Age (40 and older)
e Disability
¢ Genetic information

(including employer requests
for, or purchase, use, or

* Interference, coercion, or
threats related to exercising
rights regarding disability
discrimination or pregnancy
accommodation

What Organizations are Covered?

* Most private employers

e State and local governments
(as employers)

e Educational institutions
(as employers)

¢ Unions

* Staffing agencies

What Employment Practices can be Challenged

as Discriminatory?

All aspects of employment, including:

¢ Discharge, firing, or lay-off

e Harassment (including
unwelcome verbal or
physical conduct)

e Hiring or promotion

e Assignment

¢ Pay (unequal wages or
compensation)

e Failure to provide
reasonable accommodation
for a disability; pregnancy,
childbirth, or related medical
condition; or a sincerely-held
religious belief, observance
or practice

¢ Benefits

e Job training
e Classification
e Referral

¢ Obtaining or disclosing
geneticinformation of
employees

Requesting or disclosing medical
information of employees

Conduct that might reasonably
discourage someone from
opposing discrimination, filing
acharge, or participatingin an
investigation or proceeding

Conduct that coerces,
intimidates, threatens, or
interferes with someone
exercising their rights, or
someone assisting or
encouraging someone else

to exercise rights, regarding
disability discrimination
(including accommodation)
or pregnancy accommodation

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred?

Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because there are strict time limits for filing a charge of
discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the following ways:

Submit an inquiry through the EEOC’s public portal
(https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx)

Call 1-800—669—-4000 (toll free)
1-800-669-6820 (TTY)
1-844-234-5122 (ASL video phone)

Visit an EEOC field office
(www.eeoc.gov/field-office)
E-Mail info@eeoc.gov

Additional information about the EEOC,
including information about filing a charge of
discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.



https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx
http://www.eeoc.gov/field-office
mailto:info@eeoc.gov
http://www.eeoc.gov/

EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR SUBCONTRACTS

The Department of Labor’s Office of Federal Contract Protected Veteran Status
Compliance Programs (OFCCP) enforces the nondiscrimination
and affirmative action commitments of companies doing business
with the Federal Government. If you are applying for a job with,
or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract or
subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from
discrimination on the following bases:

The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974,
as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits employment discrimination
against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and
advance in employment, disabled veterans, recently separated
veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release from
active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans,
Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation, or Armed Forces service medal veterans.

Gender Identity, National Origin Retaliation

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment
discrimination by Federal contractors based on race, color,
religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national
origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of
opportunity in all aspects of employment.

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint
of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or
otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors
under these Federal laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its

Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations under

- - OFCCP’s authorities should contact immediately:
Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and

employees of Federal contractors from discrimination based on The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)
inquiring about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or U.S. Department of Labor
the compensation of other applicants or employees. 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20210
Disability 1-800-397-6251 (toll-free)
Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial
protects qualified individuals with disabilities from discrimination 7—-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services. OFCCP may also
in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job be contacted by submitting a question online to OFCCP’s Help Desk
training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment (https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/), or by calling an OFCCP regional
by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S.
making reasonable accommodation to the known physical or Government, Department of Labor and on OFCCP’s “Contact Us”
mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a webpage (https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact).

disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue
hardship to the employer. Section 503 also requires that
Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and
advance in employment qualified individuals with disabilities
at all levels of employment, including the executive level.

PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

Race, Color, National Origin, Sex Individuals with Disabilities

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended,

of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability
amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance.
or national origin in programs or activities receiving Federal Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of employment against
financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable

Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job.
provision of employment, or where employment discrimination

causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program
such programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 of any institution which receives Federal financial assistance,
prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing
educational programs or activities which receive Federal such assistance.

financial assistance.
(Revised 6/27/2023)


https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact

PR EMPo,

07
D Conozca sus Derechos:

La Discriminacion en el Lugar de Trahajo es liegal

La Comisidn Para la Igualdad de Oportunidades en el Empleo (EEOC, por sus siglas en inglés) de los EE. UU.
hace cumplir las leyes federales que lo protegen contra la discriminacion en el empleo. Si cree que ha sido

discriminado(a) en el trabajo o al solicitar un trabajo, la EEOC puede ayudarle.

¢Quién esta Protegido?

e Empleados (actuales y anteri-
ores), incluyendo gerentes y
empleados temporales

e Aplicantes de trabajo

e Miembros de sindicatos y
Solicitantes de membresia
en un sindicato

¢Qué Tipos de Discriminacion Laboral son

llegales?

Segun las leyes de la EEOC, un empleador no puede
discriminarlo, independientemente de su estatus migratorio,

por motivos de:

e Raza

e Color

* Religion

e Origen nacional

e Sexo (incluyendo embarazo,
parto, y condiciones médicas
relacionadas, orientacion sex-
ual o identidad de gnero)

e Edad (40 afios 0 mas)

e Discapacidad

¢ Informacion genética
(incluyendo solicitudes del
empleador para la compra,
el uso o la divulgacién de
pruebas genéticas, servicios
genéticos o historial médico
familiar)

¢Qué Puede Hacer si Cree que ha Ocurrido Discriminacion?

e Tomar represalias por presen-
tar un cargo, oponerse razon-
ablemente a la discriminacion
o participar en una demanda,
investigacion o procedimiento
por discriminacién

e Interferencia, coercion o
amenazas relacionadas con
el ejercicio de los derechos
relacionados con la discrimi-
nacion por discapacidad o la
acomodacién por embarazo

¢Qué Organizaciones estan Cubiertas?

¢ La mayoria de los
empleadores privados

* Gobiernos estatales y locales
(como empleadores)

¢ Instituciones educativas
(como empleadores)

e Sindicatos
e Agencias de empleo

¢éQué Practicas Laborales Pueden ser

Discriminatorias?

Todos los aspectos del empleo, incluyendo:

e Despidos

® Acoso (incluyendo conducta
fisica o verbal no deseada)

e Contratacion o promocién
e Asignaciones

e Remuneracioén (salarios
desiguales o compensacion)

¢ Falta de proporcionar adapta-
ciones razonables para una
discapacidad; embarazo,
parto o condicidon médica
relacionada al embarazo o
parto; o para la observancia
0 practica de una creencia
religiosa sincera

* Beneficios

* Formacion profesional
e Clasificacion

¢ Referencias

e Obtencidn o divulgacién de
informacién genética de los
empleados

Solicitud o divulgacién de
informacién médica de los
empleados

Conducta que podria desalen-
tar razonablemente a alguien
de oponerse a la discrimi-
nacioén, presentar un cargo o
participar en una investigacion
o procedimiento

Conducta que coaccione, intim-
ide, amenace o interfiera con

el ejercicio de sus derechos por
parte de alguien, o alguien que
ayude o aliente a otra persona
a ejercer sus derechos, en rel-
acién con la discriminacion por
discapacidad (incluyendo las
adaptaciones) o adaptaciones
por embarazo

Comuniquese con la EEOC de inmediato si sospecha discriminacién. No demore, porque existen limites de tiempo estrictos para
presentar una denuncia por discriminacion (180 o 300 dias, segun el lugar donde viva o trabaje). Puede comunicarse con la EEOC
de cualquiera de las siguientes maneras:

Presentar una consulta a través del Portal Publico de la EEOC:
https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx

Llame
1-800-669-6820 (TTY)

1-800-669—-4000 (nimero gratuito)

1-844-234-5122 (Video Teléfono de ASL)

Visite

una Oficina de Campo de la EEOC (informacién en

www.eeoc.qov/field-office)

Corre Electronico: info@eeoc.gov

Informacién adicional sobre la EEOC, incluyendo
informacién sobre cdmo presentar un cargo de :
discriminacion, esté disponible en www.eeoc.gov/es. E b



https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx
http://www.eeoc.gov/field-office
mailto:info%40eeoc.gov%20?subject=
http://www.eeoc.gov/es

EMPLEADORES QUE TIENEN CONTRATOS O SUBCONTRATOS FEDERALES

La Oficina de Programas de Cumplimiento de Contratos Federales  Estatus Protegido Como Veterano
(OFCCP, por sus siglas en inglés) del Departamento de Trabajo

hace cumplir los compromisos de no discriminacion y accion
afirmativa de las empresas que hacen negocios con el gobierno
federal. Si esta solicitando un trabajo con, o es un empleado de
una empresa con un contrato o subcontrato federal, usted esta
protegido(a) por la ley federal contra la discriminacion en las
siguientes bases:

El Acta de Asistencia para el Reajuste de los Veteranos de la Era de
Vietnam de 1974, modificada, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibe la discrimi-
nacion laboral y requiere accién afirmativa para reclutar, emplear
y avanzar en el empleo a veteranos discapacitados, veteranos
recientemente separados (es decir, dentro de los tres afios poste-
riores al su separacién o liberacién del servicio activo), veteranos
en servicio activo en tiempo de guerra o insignia de campafia, o
Raza, Color, Religién, Sexo, Orientacién Sexual, veteranos con medallas de servicio de las fuerzas armadas.

Identidad de Género, Origen Nacional Represalias

La Orden Ejecutiva 11246, enmendada, prohibe la discriminacion
laboral por parte de los contratistas federales por motivos de
raza, color, religidn, sexo, orientacidn sexual, identidad de género
u origen nacional, y requiere accion afirmativa para garantizar la
igualdad de oportunidades en todos los aspectos del empleo.

Se prohiben las represalias contra una persona que presente una
queja por discriminacion, participe en un procedimiento de la
OFCCP o se oponga a la discriminacidn por parte de contratistas
federales en virtud de estas leyes federales.

Cualquier persona que crea que un contratista ha violado sus

Preguntar, Divulgar o Discutir Salarios obligaciones de no discriminar o accién afirmativa bajo las autori-

. dades de la OFCCP deb i dei diat :
La Orden Ejecutiva 11246, enmendada, protege a los solicitantes adesdefa b€ comunicarse de inmediato con

y empleados de contratistas federales de la discriminacién basada |5 Oficina de Programas de Cumplimiento de Contratos Federales

en preguntar, divulgar o discutir su compensacion o la compen- (OFCCP),

sacion de otros solicitantes o empleados. Departamento de Trabajo de los EE. UU.,
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.

Discapacidad Washington, D.C. 20210

., e s i 1-800-397-6251 (llamada gratuita).
La Seccion 503 del Acta de Rehabilitacion de 1973, segun enmenda-

da, protege a las personas calificadas con discapacidades contra la
discriminacién en la contratacion, promocion, despido, pago, ben-
efluos complementarios, capacitacion laboral, cIasnﬁc-aaon, referen- retransmisién de telecomunicaciones. También se puede contac-
cias y otros aspectos del empleo por parte de contratistas federales. tar a la OFCCP enviando una pregunta en linea a la mesa de ayu-

La discriminacion por discapacidad incluye no hacer adaptaciones da de la OFCCP en https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/, o llamando
razonables a las limitaciones fisicas o0 mentales conocidas de una a una oficina regional o distrital de la OFCCP, que figura en la

persona F(?n una discapacidad que de otro modo callﬁFa-rla yque mayoria de los directorios telefénicos bajo el Departamento de
es un solicitante o empleado, a menos que haga una dificultad Trabajo de los EE.UU y en la pagina web “Contactenos” de Ia

excesiva para el empleador. La Seccidn 503 también requiere que OFCCP en https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofcco/contact
los contratistas federales tomen medidas afirmativas para emplear

y promover a personas calificadas con discapacidades en todos los
niveles de empleo, incluyendo a nivel ejecutivo.

PROGRAMAS O ACTIVIDADES QUE RECIBEN ASISTENCIA FINANCIERA FEDERAL

Raza, Color, Origen Nacional, Sexo Personas con Discapacidades

Si es sordo, tiene problemas de audicidn o tiene una discapaci-
dad del habla, marque 7-1-1 para acceder a los servicios de

Ademas de las protecciones del Titulo VIl del Acta de Derechos Ci-  La Seccidn 504 del Acta de Rehabilitacion de 1973, enmendada,

viles de 1964, segun enmendada, el Titulo VI del Acta de Derechos  prohibe la discriminacién laboral por motivos de discapacidad en
Civiles de 1964, segun enmendada, prohibe la discriminacion por cualquier programa o actividad que reciba asistencia financiera
motivos de raza, color, u origen nacional en programas o activi- federal. Esta prohibida la discriminacidn en todos los aspectos de
dades que reciben asistencia financiera. La discriminacion laboral empleo contra las personas con discapacidades que, con o sin ajustes
esta cubierta por el Titulo VI si el objetivo principal de la asistencia  razonables, pueden desempeiiar las funciones esenciales del trabajo.
financiera es la provisién de empleo, o cuando la discriminacion

laboral cause o pueda causar discriminacidn en la prestacion de Si cree que ha sido discriminado(a) en un programa de cualquier
servicios bajo dichos programas. El Titulo IX de las Enmiendas de institucion que recibe asistencia financiera federal, debe comunicarse

Educacion de 1972 prohibe la discriminacion laboral por razon de  de inmediato con la agencia federal que brinda dicha asistencia.
sexo en programas o actividades educativas que reciben asistencia

financiera federal. (Actualizado 6/27/2023)


https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact

Your Employee Rights
Under the Family and
Medical Leave Act

What is FMLA leave?

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that provides
eligible employees with job-protected leave for qualifying family and
medical reasons. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division
(WHD) enforces the FMLA for most employees.

Eligible employees can take up to 12 workweeks of FMLA leave
in a 12-month period for:

The birth, adoption or foster placement of a child with you,

Your serious mental or physical health condition that makes you
unable to work,

To care for your spouse, child or parent with a serious mental or
physical health condition, and

Certain qualifying reasons related to the foreign deployment of your
spouse, child or parent who is a military servicemember.

An eligible employee who is the spouse, child, parent or next of kin of a
covered servicemember with a serious injury or illness may take up to
26 workweeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the
servicemember.

You have the right to use FMLA leave in one block of time. When it is
medically necessary or otherwise permitted, you may take FMLA leave
intermittently in separate blocks of time, or on a reduced schedule by
working less hours each day or week. Read Fact Sheet #28M(c) for more
information.

FMLA leave is not paid leave, but you may choose, or be required by your
employer, to use any employer-provided paid leave if your employer’s
paid leave policy covers the reason for which you need FMLA leave.

Am | eligible to take
FMLA leave?

You are an eligible employee if all of the following apply:

You work for a covered employer,
You have worked for your employer at least 12 months,

You have at least 1,250 hours of service for your employer during
the 12 months before your leave, and

Your employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles

of your work location.

Airline flight crew employees have different “hours of service”
requirements.

You work for a covered employer if one of the following applies:

You work for a private employer that had at least 50 employees during
at least 20 workweeks in the current or previous calendar year,

You work for an elementary or public or private secondary school, or

You work for a public agency, such as a local, state or federal
government agency. Most federal employees are covered by Title Il
of the FMLA, administered by the Office of Personnel Management.

How do | request
FMLA leave?

Generally, to request FMLA leave you must:
* Follow your employer’s normal policies for requesting leave,
* Give notice at least 30 days before your need for FMLA leave, or
» |f advance notice is not possible, give notice as soon as possible.

You do not have to share a medical diagnosis but must provide enough
information to your employer so they can determine whether the leave
qualifies for FMLA protection. You must also inform your employer if
FMLA leave was previously taken or approved for the same reason
when requesting additional leave.

Your employer may request certification from a health care provider
to verify medical leave and may request certification of a qualifying
exigency.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting
discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective bargaining
agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

State employees may be subject to certain limitations in pursuit of direct
lawsuits regarding leave for their own serious health conditions. Most
federal and certain congressional employees are also covered by the
law but are subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Office of Personnel
Management or Congress.

What does my
employer need to do?

If you are eligible for FMLA leave, your employer must:

* Allow you to take job-protected time off work for a qualifying reason,

* Continue your group health plan coverage while you are on leave on
the same basis as if you had not taken leave, and

* Allow you to return to the same job, or a virtually identical job with
the same pay, benefits and other working conditions, including shift
and location, at the end of your leave.

Your employer cannot interfere with your FMLA rights or threaten or
punish you for exercising your rights under the law. For example, your
employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting FMLA leave or
cooperating with a WHD investigation.

After becoming aware that your need for leave is for a reason that may

qualify under the FMLA, your employer must confirm whether you are
eligible or not eligible for FMLA leave. If your employer determines that
you are eligible, your employer must notify you in writing:

¢ About your FMLA rights and responsibilities, and

* How much of your requested leave, if any, will be FMLA-protected
leave.

Where can | find more
information?

Call 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/fmla to learn more.

If you believe your rights under the FMLA have been violated, you may
file a complaint with WHD or file a private lawsuit against your employer
in court. Scan the QR code to learn about our WHD complaint process.

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
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Sus derechos de personal segun la Ley
de Licencia Familiar y Médica

¢ Qué es una licencia de
FMLA?

La Ley de Licencia Familiar y Médica (FMLA, por sus siglas en inglés) es una ley
federal que proporciona al personal elegible licencias con proteccion del empleo
por razones familiares y médicas que califiquen. La Divisién de Horas y Salarios
(WHD, por sus siglas en inglés) del Departamento de Trabajo de EE. UU. hace
cumplir la FMLA para la mayoria del personal.

El personal elegible puede tomarse licencias de FMLA de hasta 12 semanas de
trabajo en un periodo de 12 meses por:
* El nacimiento, la adopcion o la ubicacién de hogar adoptivo de un nifio o nifia,
* Un problema grave de salud mental o fisico que le impide trabajar,
¢ El cuidado de su conyuge, hijos, hijas o padres con enfermedades mentales o
fisicas graves, y
* Ciertas razones que califican, relacionadas con la asignacion de su conyuge,
hijo, hija, padre o madre en el servicio militar.

El personal que sea cényuge, hijo, hija, padre, madre o familiar cercano de una
persona cubierta en el servicio militar con una lesion o enfermedad grave puede
tomarse una licencia de FMLA de hasta 26 semanas de trabajo en un solo
periodo de 12 meses para cuidar a la persona en servicio.

Puede que usted tenga derecho a usar la licencia de FMLA en un bloque de
tiempo. Cuando haya una necesidad médica o se permita por otro motivo, puede
tomar una licencia de FMLA de forma intermitente en bloques separados, o con
un horario reducido trabajando menos horas al dia o a la semana. Lea la hoja
informativa #28M(c) para obtener mas informacion.

La licencia de FMLA no es una licencia paga, pero usted puede elegir, o puede
que su empresa le exija, utilizar cualquier licencia paga proporcionada por la
empresa si la politica de licencias de su empresa cubre el motivo por el cual
necesita una licencia de FMLA.

. Soy elegible para tomar
una licencia de FMLA?

Usted es elegible si aplican todas las siguientes condiciones:
* Trabaja para una empresa cubierta,
* Ha trabajado para su empresa durante al menos 12 meses,
¢ Tiene al menos 1250 horas de servicio para su empresa durante los 12 meses
previos a su licencia, y
* Su empresa tiene al menos 50 integrantes del personal dentro de las 75 millas
desde su lugar de trabajo.

El personal de tripulacién de vuelo tiene requisitos de "horas de servicio" diferentes.

Trabaja para una empresa cubierta si aplica una de las siguientes condiciones:

* Trabaja para una empresa privada que tiene al menos 50 integrantes del
personal durante al menos 20 semanas laborales en el afio actual o anterior,

* Trabaja para una escuela primaria o secundaria publica o privada, o

* Trabaja para una agencia publica, como una agencia gubernamental local,
estatal o federal. La mayoria del personal esta cubierta por el Titulo Il de la
FMLA, administrada por la Oficina de Administracion de Personal.

¢, Como solicito una
licencia de FMLA?

En general, para solicitar una licencia de FMLA usted debe:
* Seguir las politicas regulares de su empresa para solicitar licencias,
* Avisar con al menos 30 dias de anticipacién que necesita una licencia de
FMLA, o
* Sino es posible avisar con anticipacion, avisar tan pronto sea posible.
Usted no tiene obligacion de compartir un diagnéstico médico, pero debe
proporcionar informacion suficiente para que su empresa pueda determinar si la
licencia califica para la proteccion de la FMLA. Usted también debe informar a su

empresa si se tomo una licencia de FMLA anteriormente o se aprob6 por el
mismo motivo al solicitar una licencia adicional.

Su empresa puede solicitar certificacion de un prestador de atenciéon médica
para verificar la licencia médica y puede solicitar certificacion de una exigencia que
califique.

La FMLA no afecta ninguna ley federal o estatal que prohiba la discriminacion, ni
invalida ninguna ley estatal o local o acuerdo colectivo que proporcione mayores
derechos de licencia familiar o médica.

El personal estatal puede estar sujeto a ciertas limitaciones al buscar demandas
directas con respecto a licencias por sus propias condiciones graves de salud. La
mayor parte del personal federal y cierta parte del congresional también esta
cubierta por la ley, pero esta sujeta a la jurisdiccién de la Oficina de Administracion
de Personal de EE. UU. o al Congreso.

¢, Qué debe hacer mi
empresa?

Si usted es elegible para una licencia de FMLA, su empresa_debe:

Permitirle que se ausente del trabajo con su empleo protegido, por un motivo que
califique,

Continuar su plan de cobertura grupal de salud mientras se encuentra de licencia,
de la misma forma que si no estuviera de licencia, y

Permitirle regresar al mismo empleo, o a un empleo virtualmente igual con el mismo
salario, los mismos beneficios y otras condiciones de trabajo, incluidos los turnos y
la ubicacién, al finalizar su licencia.

Su empresa no puede interferir con sus derechos de la FMLA ni amenazar ni
castigarle por ejercer sus derechos en virtud de la ley. Por ejemplo, su empleador
no puede tomar represalias contra usted por solicitar una licencia de FMLA o
cooperar con una investigacion de WHD.

Tras tomar conocimiento de que su necesidad de tomar una licencia es por un
motivo que califica segun la FMLA, su empresa debe confirmar si usted es
elegible o no para la licencia de la FMLA. Si su empresa determina que usted es
elegible, su empresa debe notificarle por escrito:

* Sobre sus derechos y responsabilidades en virtud de la FMLA, y
* Qué parte de su licencia solicitada, si la hubiera, sera protegida por la FMLA.

¢ Dénde puedo encontrar
mas informacion?

Llame al 1-866-487-9243 o visite dol.gov/fmla para conocer mas.

Si cree que sus derechos segun la FMLA han sido violados, puede presentar una
denuncia ante la WHD o presentar una demanda privada contra su empresa en la
corte. Escanee el cédigo QR para conocer mas sobre el proceso de denuncias
de la WHD.

ESCANEAR
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EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT
FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

$7.25 -

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

OVERTIME PAY  Atleast 1'% times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work
in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may
work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with
certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

TIP CREDIT Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit
based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage
of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an
employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal
the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

PUMP AT WORK The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing employee to express
breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child’s birth each time the employee needs
to express breast milk. Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded
from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the
employee to express breast milk.

ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages
in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate
and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for
each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law.

Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor provisions.
Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in
the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when
the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or
discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL e Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime
INFORMATION pay provisions. Certain narrow exemptions also apply to the pump at work requirements.

e Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern
Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
* Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.

¢ Some employers incorrectly classify workers as “independent contractors” when they are
actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two
because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime
pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.

e Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be
paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR www.dol.gov/agencies/whd

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 1-866-487-9243 ﬁﬂ.- L
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DERECHOS DE LOS TRABAJADORES
BAJO LA LEY DE NORMAS JUSTAS DE TRABAJQ sw-sesen noes

SALARIO MINIMO FEDERAL

§7.25.~

A PARTIR DEL 24 DE JULIO DE 2009

La ley exige que los empleadores exhiban este cartel donde sea visible por los empleados.

PAGO POR Por lo menos tiempo y medio (172) de la tasa regular de pago por todas las horas trabajadas en exceso de 40
SOBRETIEMPO en una semana laboral.

TRABAJO DE El empleado tiene que tener por lo menos 16 afios para trabajar en la mayoria de los trabajos no agricolas y

MENORES DE por lo menos 18 afios para trabajar en los trabajos no agricolas declarados peligrosos por la Secretaria de
Trabajo. Los menores de 14 y 15 afos pueden trabajar fuera del horario escolar en varias ocupaciones que no

EDAD sean de manufactura, de mineria, y que no sean peligrosas con ciertas restricciones al horario de trabajo. Se

aplican distintos reglamentos al empleo agricola.

CRED|T0 POR Los empleadores de “empleados que reciben propinas” que cumplan con ciertas condiciones, pueden
PROPINAS reclamar un crédito de salario parcial basado en las propinas recibidas por sus empleados. Los empleadores
les tienen que pagar a los empleados que reciben propinas un salario en efectivo de por lo menos $2.13
por hora si ellos reclaman un crédito de propinas contra su obligacién de pagar el salario minimo. Si las
propinas recibidas por el empleado combinadas con el salario en efectivo de por lo menos $2.13 por hora del
empleador no equivalen al salario minimo por hora, el empleador tiene que compensar la diferencia.

EXTRACCK')N EN LaFLSA requiere que los empleadores proporcionen un tiempo de descanso razonable para que un empleado
EL TRABAJO pueda extraerse leche de los pechos para el/la bebé que esté amamantando durante un afio después
del nacimiento del/de la nifio(a) cada vez que la empleada necesite extraerse leche. Empleadores deben
proveer un lugar, que no sea un cuarto de bafio, que esté ocultado de la vista y libre de intrusién de parte de
comparieros de trabajo y del publico, el cual la empleada podria usar para extraerse leche.

CUMPLIMIENTO El Departamento tiene la autoridad de recuperar salarios retroactivos y una cantidad igual en dafios y
perjuicios en casos de incumplimientos con el salario minimo, sobretiempo y otros incumplimientos. El
Departamento puede litigar y/o recomendar un enjuiciamiento criminal. A los empleadores se les pueden
imponer sanciones pecuniarias civiles por cada incumplimiento deliberado o repetido de las disposiciones
de la ley del pago del salario minimo o de sobretiempo. También se pueden imponer sanciones pecuniarias
civiles por incumplimiento con las disposiciones de la FLSA sobre el trabajo de menores de edad. Ademas,
se pueden imponer sanciones pecuniarias civiles incrementadas por cada incumplimiento con el trabajo de
menores que resulte en la muerte o una lesion seria de un empleado menor de edad, y tales avaluaciones
pueden duplicarse cuando se determina que los incumplimientos fueron deliberados o repetidos. La ley
también prohibe tomar represalias o despedir a los trabajadores que presenten una queja o que participen en
cualquier proceso bajo la FLSA.

|NF°RMAC|6N * Ciertas ocupaciones y ciertos establecimientos estan exentos de las disposiciones del salario minimo, y/o
ADICIONAL de las disposiciones del pago de sobretiempo.

¢ Se aplican disposiciones especiales a trabajadores de Samoa Americana, del Estado Libre Asociado de las
Islas Marianas del Norte y del Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico.

¢ Algunas leyes estatales proporcionan protecciones mas amplias a los trabajadores; los empleadores tienen
que cumplir con ambas.

¢ Algunos empleadores clasifican incorrectamente a sus trabajadores como “contratistas independientes”
cuando en realidad son empleados segun la FLSA. Es importante conocer la diferencia entre los dos porque
los empleados (a menos que estén exentos) tienen derecho a las protecciones del salario minimo y del
pago de sobretiempo bajo la FLSA y los contratistas correctamente clasificados como independientes no lo
tienen.

* A ciertos estudiantes de tiempo completo, estudiantes alumnos, aprendices, y trabajadores con

discapacidades se les puede pagar menos que el salario minimo bajo certificados especiales expedidos por
el Departamento de Trabajo.

Er
DIVISION DE HORAS Y SALARIOS 1-866-487-9243 ‘ﬁ‘ o
DEPARTAMENTO DE TRABAJO DE LOS EE.UU. www.dol.gov/agencies/whd -
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FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE IN FLORIDA
COMMERCE Notice to Employees

Effective September 30, 2023, the Florida minimum wage will be $12.00 per hour, with a minimum wage
of at least $8.98 per hour for tipped employees, in addition to tips, through September 29, 2024.

On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved a state constitutional amendment to gradually increase the
state's minimum wage each year until reaching $15.00 per hour on September 30, 2026. On September 30,
2023, Florida’s minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour. Each year thereafter, Florida’s minimum wage
will increase by $1.00 until the minimum wage reaches $15.00 per hour on September 30, 2026. Resuming in
2027, the minimum wage will be adjusted annually for inflation.

An employer may not retaliate against an employee for exercising his or her right to receive the minimum wage.
Rights protected by the State of Florida Constitution include the right to:

* File a complaint about an employer’s alleged noncompliance with lawful minimum wage requirements.

» Inform any person about an employer’s alleged noncompliance with lawful minimum wage requirements.

= Inform any person of his or her potential rights under Section 24, Article X of the State Constitution and to
assist the individual in asserting such rights.

An employee who has not received the lawful minimum wage after notifying his or her employer and giving the

employer 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action in a court of law against an
employer to recover back wages plus damages and attorney’s fees.

An employer found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements is subject to a fine of $1,000 per
violation, payable to the State. The Attorney General, or other official designated by the Legislature, may bring
a civil action to enforce the minimum wage.

For additional details, see Section 24, Article X of the State of Florida Constitution, and section 448.110, Florida
Statutes.



FLORIDA El salario minimo de Florida
COMMERCE Aviso a los empleados

Desde el 30 de septiembre de 2023, el salario minimo de Florida sera de $12.00 por hora, con un minimo
de, al menos, $8.98 por hora adicionales a las propinas para los empleados que reciben propinas, hasta
el 29 de septiembre de 2024.

El 3 de noviembre de 2020, los votantes de Florida aprobaron una enmienda constitucional estatal para que el
salario minimo del estado se incremente gradualmente cada afio hasta que alcance los $15.00 por hora el 30
de septiembre de 2026. El 30 de septiembre de 2023, el salario minimo de Florida incrementara a $12.00 por
hora. En lo sucesivo, el salario minimo de Florida incrementara $1.00 cada afio hasta que alcance los $15.00
por hora el 30 de septiembre de 2026. Comenzando en 2027, el salario minimo se ajustara anualmente de
acuerdo con la inflacién.

Los empleadores no podran tomar represalias contra los empleados que ejerzan su derecho de recibir el salario
minimo. Los derechos protegidos conforme a la Constitucién Estatal de Florida incluyen el derecho de:

= presentar una querella por el presunto incumplimiento de los requisitos respecto al salario minimo legal de
parte de algun empleador;

» informarle a cualquier persona el presunto incumplimiento de los requisitos legales respecto al salario
minimo de parte de algun empleador;

» informarle a cualquier persona acerca de los derechos que pueda tener conforme a la Seccion 24, Articulo
X de la Constitucion Estatal y ayudar a la persona a ejercer dichos derechos.

Un empleado que no haya recibido el salario minimo legal después de haberle notificado a su empleador y
haberle dado un plazo de quince (15) dias para resolver toda reclamacion de salarios no pagados tiene derecho
a interponer una accion civil contra algun empleador en un tribunal de ley para recuperar los salarios atrasados,
asi como danos y perjuicios y honorarios de abogados.

Un empleador que sea hallado culpable de violar intencionalmente los requisitos del salario minimo esta sujeto
a que se le imponga una multa de $1,000 que debera pagarle al estado por cada violacién. El procurador general
u otro funcionario designado por la Legislatura puede interponer una accion civil para hacer cumplir los requisitos
respecto al salario minimo.

Para conocer mas detalles, véase la Seccién 24, Articulo X de la Constitucion Estatal de Florida y el articulo
448.110, Leyes de Florida.



RT-83
R.07/19

To Employees:

- Your Employer is registered with the Florida Department of Revenue as an employer
who is liable under the Florida Reemployment Assistance Law. This means that You,
as employees, are covered by the Reemployment Assistance Program, formerly
known as Unemployment Compensation Program.

- Reemployment assistance taxes finance the benefits paid to eligible unemployed
workers. Those taxes are paid by your employer and, by law, cannot be deducted
from employee’s wages.

- You may be eligible to receive reemployment assistance benefits if you meet the
following requirements:

You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own.
You must apply for benefits at https://connect.myflorida.com.

You must register for work at www.employflorida.com.

You must have a history of sufficient employment and wages.

You must be Able to work and Available for work.
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- You may file a claim for partial unemployment for any week you work less than full
time due to lack of work if your wages during that week are less than your weekly
benefit amount.

- You must report all earnings while claiming benefits. Failure to do so is a third-degree
felony with a maximum penalty of 5 years imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.

- Discharges related to misconduct connected with work may result in disqualification
with a penalty period AND remain in effect until a set amount of wages have been
earned with new employment.

- Voluntarily quitting a job without good cause attributable to the employer may result in
disqualification until a set amount of wages have been earned with new employment.

- If you have any questions regarding reemployment assistance benefits, contact the
Department of Economic Opportunity, Reemployment Assistance Program at:

Department of Economic Opportunity
Division of Workforce Services
Reemployment Assistance Program
1-800-204-2418
www.floridajobs.org

This notice must be posted in accordance with Section 443.151(1) Florida Statutes, of the Florida
Reemployment Assistance Program Law.


www.floridajobs.org
www.employflorida.com
https://connect.myflorida.com

RT-83 SP
R.07/19

Empleados:

o Su empleador esta registrado en el Departamento de Hacienda de Florida como empleador responsable,
segln la Ley de Asistencia de Reempleo de Florida. Esto significa que Ustedes, como empleados, estdn
cubiertos por el Programa de Asistencia de Reempleo, previamente conocido como Programa de
Compensacion por Desempleo.

o Los impuestos de Asistencia de Reempleo financian los beneficios que se pagan a los trabajadores
desempleados que reunen los requisitos. Esos impuestos son pagados por su empleador y, segun la ley,
no se pueden descontar de los salarios de los empleados.

« Usted puede ser apto para recibir beneficios de asistencia de reempleo si retne los siguientes requisitos:

Debe estar total o parcialmente desempleado y no debe ser por causa atribuible a Usted.
Debe solicitar los beneficios en https://connect.myflorida.com.

Deber registrarse para trabajar en www.employflorida.com.

Debe tener una historia de empleo y salarios suficientes.

Debe hallarse Capaz para trabajar y Disponible.
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o Usted puede presentar una reclamacion por desempleo parcial por aquella semana en la que trabaje
menos del horario completo debido a la falta de trabajo, si sus salarios durante esa semana son menores
gue el monto de su beneficio semanal.

o Usted debe informar todos sus ingresos mientras esté reclamando beneficios. Dejar de informarlos es un
delito grave del tercer grado que conlleva una penalidad maxima de 5 afios de céarcel y una multa de
$5,000.

o Los despidos relacionados con la conducta laboral indebida podrian conllevar la descalificacién con un
periodo de penalidad Y la descalificacion permaneceria en vigencia hasta que gane una cantidad
establecida de salarios en el nuevo empleo.

« Abandonar voluntariamente el trabajo sin causa justificada atribuible al empleador podria conllevar la
descalificacion hasta que gane una cantidad establecida de salarios en el nuevo empleo.

« Sitiene alguna pregunta con respecto a los beneficios de asistencia de reempleo, comuniquese con el
Departamento de Oportunidad Econémica, Programa de Asistencia de Reempleo en:

Department of Economic Opportunity
Division of Workforce Services
Reemployment Assistance Program
1-800-204-2418
www.floridajobs.org

Este aviso debe publicarse conforme a la Seccién 443.151(1) Leyes de Florida, de la Ley del Programa de
Asistencia de Reempleo de Florida.


www.floridajobs.org
www.employflorida.com
https://connect.myflorida.com

Pinellas
(ounty

OFFICE OF
HUMAN RIGHTS

INFORMATION RELATING TO PINELLAS COUNTY’S WAGE THEFT/RECOVERY ORDINANCE

Chapter 70 of the Pinellas County Codes relating to Human Relations includes certain protections
against wage theft, and provides a process for filing a complaint with the Pinellas County Office of
Human Rights. Important information about the ordinance includes:

What is wage theft?

Wage theft is the non-payment or underpayment of earned wages to employees by employers. It
shall include earned paid time off, leave, vacation or sick pay. Examples of wage theft include
paying less than minimum wage, not paying workers overtime, not allowing workers to take meal
and rest breaks, or taking workers' tips.

Who can file a wage theft and recovery complaint?
All employees who work for a covered employer in the geographic boundaries of Pinellas County
can file a complaint.

Who is an "employee" as defined in the Wage Theft and Recovery Ordinance?

An employee is a person who performs work for an employer within Pinellas County. This does
not include a bona fide independent contractor (as defined by the Internal Revenue Code).
Employee may also include a person who performs work that benefits an employer located within
Pinellas County even though the employee may have performed work outside of Pinellas County.

Who is a covered "employer" as defined in the Wage Theft and Recovery Ordinance?

A covered employer is any person who, acting individually or as an officer, agent or employee of
another person, acts directly or indirectly in the interest to a person or entity employing an
employee.

What is "non-payment of earned wages" according to the ordinance?

When an employer fails to pay any portion of wages earned by an employee within a reasonable
amount of time from the date on which wages were due for work performed by the employee. It
shall include earned paid time off, leave, vacation or sick pay.

Can | file an anonymous complaint?
No. Contact information and the aggrieved employee’s participation in the process is required.

Will my employer know that | complained?
Yes. The employer will be contacted to resolve the complaint.

What if | am fired for complaining?
Retaliation for filing a complaint is unlawful and should be reported to Pinellas County Office of
Human Rights for further action.

For more information:

Call the Pinellas County Office of Human Rights at (727) 464-4880, or visit
http://www.pinellascounty.org/Humanrights/wage theft.htm
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INFORMACION RELACIONADA CON LA ORDENANZA DE RECUPERACION / ROBO DE SALARIOS DEL CONDADO
DE PINELLAS

El Capitulo 70 de los Codigos del Condado de Pinellas relacionados con las Relaciones Humanas incluye ciertas
protecciones contra el robo de salarios, y proporciona un proceso para presentar una queja ante la Oficina de Derechos
Humanos del Condado de Pinellas. La informacion importante sobre la ordenanza incluye:

= ¢Qué es el robo de salarios?
El robo de salarios es la falta de pago o pago insuficiente de los salarios ganados a los empleados por parte de los
empleadores. Incluira el tiempo libre remunerado ganado, licencia, vacaciones o pago por enfermedad.
Los ejemplos de robo de salarios incluyen pagar menos del salario minimo, no pagar horas extras a los trabajadores,
no permitir que los trabajadores tomen comidas y descansos, o tomar las propinas de los trabajadores.

= ¢Quién puede presentar una queja por robo de salarios y recuperacion?
Todos los empleados que trabajan para un empleador cubierto en los limites geograficos del condado de Pinellas
pueden presentar una queja.

= ;Quién es un "empleado” como se define en la Ordenanza de recuperacién y robo de salarios?
Un empleado es una persona que realiza trabajo para un empleador dentro del Condado de Pinellas. Esto no incluye
un contratista independiente de buena fe (como lo define el Cédigo de Rentas Internas).
El empleado también puede incluir a una persona que realiza un trabajo que beneficia a un empleador ubicado
dentro del Condado de Pinellas, a pesar de que el empleado puede haber realizado un trabajo fuera del Condado de
Pinellas.

= ¢ Quién es un "empleador" cubierto como se define en la Ordenanza de recuperaciéon y robo de salarios?
Un empleador cubierto es cualquier persona que, actuando individualmente o como funcionario, agente o
empleado de otra persona, actua directa o indirectamente en interés de una persona o entidad que emplea a un
empleado.

=  ¢;Qué es "falta de pago de salarios ganados™ acorde a la ordenanza?
Cuando un empleador no paga ninguna parte de los salarios ganados por un empleado dentro de un periodo de
tiempo razonable a partir de la fecha en que se debian los salarios por el trabajo realizado por el empleado. Incluira
el tiempo libre remunerado ganado, licencia, vacaciones o pago por enfermedad.

= ;Puedo presentar una queja anénima?
No. Se requiere informacién del contacto y la participacion del empleado perjudicado en el proceso.

= ;Miempleador sabra que me quejé?
Si. Se contactara al empleador para resolver la queja.

= ;Qué pasa si me despiden por quejarme?

Las represalias por presentar una queja son ilegales y se deben informar a la Oficina de Derechos Humanos del
Condado de Pinellas para que tome mas medidas.

Para mas informacion:

Llame a la Oficina de Derechos Humanos del Condado de Pinellas al (727) 464-4880, o visite
http://www.pinellascounty.org/Humanrights/wage theft.htm
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If you are injured on the job:

1- Notify your employer immediately to
S$25,000 Reward

get the name of an approved physician.
Workers’ comp insurance may not pay
the medical bills if you don’t report your
injury promptly to your employer.
ANTI-ERAUDIREWARDIPROGRAM
Rewards of up to $25,000 may be paid to persons
providing information to the Department of Financial
Services leading to the arrest and conviction of

persons committing insurance fraud, including
employers who illegally fail to obtain workers’
compensation coverage. Persons may report
suspected fraud to the department at

2. Notify the doctor and medical staff
7 or online at

that you were injured on the job so that
bills may be properly filed.

https://tirstfildfs:com:

A person is not subject to civil liability
1 for furnishing such information, if such

person acts without malice, fraud
(i s

or bad faith.

3. If you have any problems with your
claim or suffer excessive delays in
treatment, contact the State of Florida's

Division of Workers’ Compensation at
1-800-342-1741.

Revised March 2010

Employer: Pinellas County BOCC
(Fraud reporting link updated May 2021)

PO Box 110279 Lakewood Ranch, FL 34211

Workers’ Compensation Provided Through: Johns Eastern Company, Inc.
First report of injury: 1-877-879-9296

Claims Administration: (941) 907-3100 or (800)749-3044
Effective through: September 2026



i
yratam
icoS 6
\05 £351%° med
10d0S
2 por

| pag

-
su\es!
. n coN
e s€ (etacion®
; S AU
xizado
| 108U

Compensacion poraceidentes
JRdettrabajollabora pakalusted:

Silustedise/lastimaienisul/lugar.deiempleo:

RecompensalderS25;000:00

[PROGRANIA [0/ [RECORMIPENSACION ANl [FRAURE

Recompensas de hasta $25,000.00 pueden ser pagadas

a personas que proveen informacion al Departamento
de Servicios Financieros que conduzca al arresto y

L Notifique a su empleador inmediatamente

er un seguro por

conviccion de aquellos que cometen fraude de seguros,
incluyendo empleadores que ilegalmente dejan de obten

identes de trab

para obtener el nombre de un medico autoriza-
do. Puede que el seguro de compensacion por
accidentes de trabajo no pague sus cuentas

médicas si usted no reporta su accidente lo
mas antes posible a su empleador.
jo. Se puede reportar
sospechas de fraude al Departamento llamando al
@7@ o por correo electronico al
https://firstfldfstcom:
Nadie es sujeto a responsabilidad civil por
someter dicha informacion si se actiia

sin malicia, fraude o mala fe.

z- Notifique al medico y a su personal

que usted se lastim6 en su lugar de empleo
para que las cuentas medicas sean debida-
mente remitidas.

3- Si usted tiene algun problema con su

69L-6.007, F.A.C. Compensation Notice
DFS-F4-2026

reclamo o si tiene demasiadas demoras en
| Revised March 2010

su tratamiento, comuniquese con la Division
de Compensacion por Accidentes de Trabajo
al 1-800-342-1741

(Fraud reporting link updated May 2021)

Empleador: Pinellas County BOCC

Compensacion de trabajadores proporcionada a través de: Johns Eastern Company, Inc.
APARTADO de correos 110279 Lakewood Ranch, FL 34211
Primer informe de lesion: 1-877-879-9296

Administracion de reclamaciones: (941) 907-3100 o (800) 749-3044
Efectivo hasta: septiembre de 2026



YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA

THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT
AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake
military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers from
discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that
job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

¥¢ you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal
natice of your service;

¥¢ you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed
services while with that particular employer;

¥¢ you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner
after conclusion of service; and

¥¢ you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying
discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job
and benefits you would have attained if you had nat been absent due to
military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION

¥¢  If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right
to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan
coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in
the military.

v¢  Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military
service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer’s
health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting
periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except
for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

ENFORCEMENT

If you:

v¢ are a past or present member of the uniformed service;
v¢ have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
v¢ are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

initial employment;
reemployment;

retention in employment;
promotion; or

any benefit of employment

ok o X

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in
the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a
statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that
person has no service connection.

¥¢  The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training
Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints
of USERRA violations.

v¢  For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on
USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at
http://www.dol.gov/vets. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can
be viewed at http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm.

¥ If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it,
you may request that your case be referred to the Department
of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for
representation.

v¢  You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action
against an employer for violations of USERRA.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this
address: http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm. Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers
may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place natices for employees.

U.S. Department of Labor
1-866-487-2365

U.S. Department of Justice

SR
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1-800-336-4590
Publication Date — April 2017

Office of Special Counsel
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