EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES ADVISORY COUNCIL SELECTION COMMITTEE

March 18, 2022

The Pinellas County EMS Advisory Council Selection Committee held a meeting on March 18, 2022, at the EMS & Fire Administration, Conference Room 130, 12490 Ulmerton Road, Largo, Florida, at 9:00 A.M. with the following members present:

Mayor Woody Brown, Largo Becca Tieder, Citizen Representative Jorge Mercado, Citizen Representative Karen Mullins, Citizen Representative Larri Gerson, Citizen Representative

Also Present:

Matthew Tolnay, County Attorney's Office Greg Woodrum, EMS & Fire Administration

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

This Committee was appointed by the Chair of the EMS Advisory Council to review the pool of candidates and select a nominee to fill two Citizen Representative vacancies representing Commission District 4 and Commission District 6 on the Council.

SELECTION OF COMMITTEE SPOKESPERSON

Mayor Brown volunteered to be the spokesperson. Approval was unanimous. Mayor Brown will present the recommended candidate's names to the full Council for their nomination.

DISCUSSION OF SELECTION CRITERIA

Mr. Woodrum presented to the Committee a roster of four (4) candidates and their applications/resumes.

The Committee determined that they would rank order two candidates for each position based on the vacancy announcement and the following criteria:

- Must be a Pinellas County resident and preferably reside in the District being applied for.
- Should provide a true citizen perspective to the EMS Advisory Council that will compliment the current professional membership.

REVIEW AND DISCUSSION OF CITIZEN APPLICATIONS

The Committee felt that the recommended applicant should have a true citizen perspective regarding the EMS System. After discussion, the Committee decided to rank order the top two candidates to fill each open position. If the number one ranked candidate becomes unavailable the recommendation would go to the second candidate.

RANK ORDER OF NOMINEES TO FILL CITIZEN VACANCIES

Mr. Mercado made a motion to rank Ms. Tina Ambrose as number one and Mr. William Metcalf as number two in rank order for the District 4 position. Ms. Gerson seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Mayor Brown made a motion to rank Mr. Ty Dougherty as number one and Ms. Eired Eddy as number two in rank order for the District 6 position. Mr. Mercado seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

The rank order to be recommended to the full EMS Advisory Council is:

District 4 Citizen Representative: 1) Tina Ambrose 2) William Metcalf District 6 Citizen Representative: 1) Ty Dougherty 2) Eired Eddy

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 A.M.