Community Rating System

The Community Rating System is a voluntary incentive program that encourages communities to establish a floodplain management program and recognizes activities that exceed the minimum National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) requirements. By participating in the program, communities earn discounts on flood insurance premiums.

Pinellas County actively participates in the NFIP on behalf of residents living in unincorporated areas and has been since 1993. As a participant in the program, Pinellas County’s Floodplain Management Program is audited on a three-year cycle by the Insurance Services Office, Inc. (ISO), contractors for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Currently, unincorporated Pinellas County is rated a Class 3 with a 35% discount. Starting April 1, 2024, unincorporated Pinellas County will be rated a Class 2, which will provide a 40% discount on NFIP flood insurance premiums. This discount will provide an estimated total saving of $10 million for unincorporated NFIP policy holders. A Class 2 rating will be the highest CRS rating a Florida community has ever achieved and is in the top 1% nationwide.

As of April 1, 2023, 22 of the 24 municipalities within Pinellas County participate in the CRS program. If your property is not in unincorporated Pinellas County, contact your municipality or visit the NFIP Community Rating System website to find out what class your community is.

Did you know?

By providing flood information services and participating in the CRS, unincorporated Pinellas County residents will save more than $10 million dollars a year on flood insurance policy premiums.

CRS Classes and Premium Discounts

CRS ClassEligible Properties

Additional Resources